Preparing for Winter

It’s the second Saturday in November, and I’ve been preparing for the winter weather that I know is coming. I washed sheets and hung them on the clothesline to dry – we won’t have many more days that are warm and dry enough, and I love the smell of sheets dried outside. Two weeks ago we harvested the carrots and potatoes from our garden, and I pulled up the rosemary and thyme from the outside pots that I had planted them in, tied them in bunches, and hung them upside down to dry inside. Today I snipped the dried stems and placed them on cookie sheets to dry in the oven on the lowest possible setting. After they dried I pulled the brittle leaves off the stems by pinching my thumb and index finger and gently running them along the stem. I told my husband that it was very “thyme-consuming”, but well worth the effort even if only for the satisfaction I get from smelling the herbs as I prepare them. This seemed like a good day to make bread, so I tossed in some of the dried herbs just for fun.

This afternoon we brought in the rain water, bucket by bucket, that I had saved from our last storm so I can use it to water my indoor plants this winter. Then I took down the wind chime to store in the garage over the winter. I’m always a little sad to bring it in, and would really like to be able to leave it out all winter. When the chimes are ringing in the summertime I always know that the wind has shifted around to a northerly direction. North winds usually bring cooler, drier air in the summer, but winter is a different matter entirely. I tried leaving the chimes out all winter once, but by spring the winter winds had scattered the pieces on the ground in the herb garden. Fortunately, I was able to find them all and put it back together again.

Although I’m a little sad to bring in the chimes this time of year, I look forward to winter. I love the quiet and how everything seems to retreat inside of itself. It feels a little like hibernating: a time to be quiet, reflect, and use the inner reserves that we’ve stored through the plentiful summer and create something new.

“In winter we lead a more inward life. Our hearts are warm and cheery, like cottages under drifts, whose windows and doors are half concealed, but from whose chimneys the smoke cheerily ascends.” Henry David Thoreau

Well, the bread smells like it’s done …

14 thoughts on “Preparing for Winter

  1. Hi I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found you by error,
    while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a
    incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I
    have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great
    work.

  2. Hi great website! Does running a blog such as this take
    a lot of work? I have very little understanding of computer programming however I had been hoping to start my own blog
    soon. Anyhow, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off subject nevertheless I just had to ask.
    Appreciate it!

    1. Hi!

      Thanks for your interest. Running a blog like this can basically be as much work as you decide. If you want to blog something every day it would probably be a lot of work. I haven’t had enough time to blog every day, or even every week, so I just write something for the blog when something strikes me that I want to write about. Setting up the blog in WordPress was fairly easy, but it took a few days to get familiar with how to use it. I don’t know anything about computer programming, and the free web hosting services like wordpress.com are quite easy to use.

      Good luck!

  3. This is the perfect website for anybody who hopes to understand this topic.
    You know a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a fresh spin on a topic that has been written about for decades.
    Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

  4. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your blog and in depth information you provide.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while
    that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information. Fantastic read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my
    Google account.

Leave a Reply

